Celebrating Lives Gone Too Soon

Yesterday was Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day. My family and I remembered and celebrated the 5 babies I have lost to miscarriage. It was a wonderful time of acknowledging the pain in losing them but also the hope we have in meeting them in heaven one day.

CAM00650CAM00652CAM00649CAM00651

My oldest son was trying so hard to help me blow up the balloons! ūüôā


CAM00657

We baked a cake and decorated it with brightly colored sprinkles to represent the joyous hope we have in knowing we will meet these babies one day.


                               CAM00663CAM00655

I wrote the month and date on the candles and balloons to represent each baby lost.

“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and ¬†knit me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13


                            CAM00668CAM00667

It has been very important all along to my husband and I that our boys be involved, not only in the joys of pregnancy, but also in the sorrow of loss. These losses affect our whole family.

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well” ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† Psalm 139:14


CAM00665

As I lit these candles I thought about each pregnancy and miscarriage. It’s amazing how much I love and miss them, even though they were only in my womb for such a short time. A Mother’s love is truly amazing, isn’t it?!?


 CAM00674CAM00676

Of course the boys enjoyed eating the yummy cake! I wanted this to also be about celebrating the family I do get to relish in this side of heaven. ūüôā

“But Jesus said, ‚ÄúLet the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.‚Ä̬†Matthew 19:14


CAM00671

I love my family! How blessed I am to have remembered and celebrated these precious lives with them.


I pray you also had a wonderful time with those closest to you yesterday remembering the babies you have lost. How did you remember your baby? If you have any ideas that you’d like to share to help others remember their¬†babies comment below. I’d also love to see a picture of how you chose to remember your little ones. Feel free to¬†post one to my ministry Facebook page.¬†¬†¬†I leave you with this scripture and pray you can hold onto it with all of your might.

Be merciful to me, O LORD, for I am in distress; my eyes grow weak with sorrow, my soul and my body with grief‚ĶBut I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”¬† Psalm 31:9, 14

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Lives Gone Too Soon

  1. This is a beautiful and meaningful occasion you have acknowledged with your family. I am glad to see you have been able to turn your sorrow into a blessing for your family in recognizing and appreciating the time you do have together. You and Scott are awesome and all of your children are beautiful.

  2. Such a beautiful celebration. Thank you for sharing. I love your creativity and the way you involved your two boys here with you as well. Love you guys and your whole family! Can’t wait until we ALL celebrate with all our little ones in eternity together.

Leave a Reply

